Data Management Policy

Updated 3 months ago by DaCota Cole

USATestprep Data Management Policy

This document outlines the periods for which data is retained in USATestprep systems. USATestprep Data Management Policy

This document outlines the periods for which data is retained in USATestprep systems. For

purposes of this document, we define the following terms:

● Application, meaning the systems provided by USATestprep.

● Deleted, meaning that a record is soft deleted -- or removed from being accessible in the

Application but available for data restoration.

● Purged, meaning that a record is permanently removed from the Application and cannot

be restored.

Account Level Statistics

The Application stores high level statistics on account activity. The information is stored at a

monthly and yearly level. This information tallies the total number of activities performed by

users on the account, but not counts of individual user activities. These totals are:

● Student logins - the total # of student logins

● Teacher logins - the total # of teacher logins

● Tests - the total # of tests activities completed

● Videos - the total # of video activities completed

● Games - the total # of games activities completed

● Practice - the total # of practice activities completed

Monthly statistics are kept for the current and previous year. Monthly statistics are reset to 0 at

midnight on the 1st of every month.

Yearly statistics are tracked for the current year-to-date and retained for the prior 2 academic

years. Yearly statistics are reset to 0 at midnight on August 1 of each year.

User Level Statistics

The Application stores login and time statistics on individual user activity. The information is

stored at a yearly level. These count totals are reset to 0 every year on August 1:

● Logins - the total # of user logins

● Time - the total activity time (student users only)

Yearly statistics are kept for the current and previous year. Yearly statistics are reset to 0 at

midnight on August 1 of each year.

Classes

The Application stores classes created by a user that is the primary teacher. Classes may be

archived by the primary teacher. Classes are only deleted if the user that is the primary teacher

of the class is deleted, or if the user that is the primary teacher of the class deletes the class.

Assessments

Assessments that are archived are kept for 1 year. After an assessment has been archived for

1 year, it is deleted. Deleted assessments are kept for 6 months. After an assessment has

been deleted for 6 months, it is purged.

Assignments

Single assignments and group assignments that are archived are kept for 1 year. After an

assignment has been archived for 1 year, it is purged. Single assignments and group

assignments with an end date over 2 years ago are purged on a rolling basis.

Class Parties

Every August 1, class parties created before June 1 of the current year are deleted.

Projector Games

Saved projector games are kept for 1 year. After a projector game has been saved for 1 year, it

is purged.

User Badges

The Application stores badges created by USATestprep and users. Every August 1, all user

badges are purged.

Student Results

Student independent practice results are purged 1 year after the result date. Any results tied to

an assignment or assessment are purged 2 years after the result date.

Student Saved Tests

Saved tests are deleted after being in existence for 1 month. Auto-saved tests are purged after

3 days, unless the student begins a different test before then, without saving or submitting the

auto-saved test.

Tokens

Data detailing a user’s earning and spending of tokens is kept for 1 year. After the log entry

becomes 1 year old, it is purged.

Game High Score Boards

Every August 1 and January 1, game high score boards are reset.

User Accounts

Student users who are deleted are kept for 6 months. After a student user has been deleted for

6 months, the account is purged.

Non-student users who are deleted are kept for 1 year. After a non-student user has been

deleted for 1 year, the account is purged.

Inactive Users

Student users who have been inactive for 5 years are deleted. Once deleted, student users are

purged 6 months later.

Non-student users who have been inactive for 2 years are deleted. Non-student users are

purged 1 year after they are deleted.

Inactive, meaning (1) users who have never logged in are deleted based on the date their

account was created and (2) users who have logged in are deleted based on the date of their

last login.

Trial Accounts

After all of a trial account’s tests are expired by 120 days:

● Assessments created by users on the trial are deleted

● Assignments created by users on the trial are deleted

● Classes created by the users on the trial are deleted

● Tokens earned by any users on the trial are purged

● Results for any users on the trial are purged


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)