How do I lock or unlock an assessment?

Updated 2 months ago by Linda Porter

Step 1: Go to the Assessments tab and click directly on the Lock icon for any assessment you would like to lock. Locking an assessment prevents students from being able to  complete it. For example: Use the lock to block access after school. You can only lock an assessment if you are the creator.

Step 2: Locking a shared assessment will lock it for ALL teachers using the assessment. Click the "OK" button to confirm that you'd like to lock the assessment. Refer to step 5 for a best practice when locking shared assessments.

Step 3: Once an assessment is successfully locked, the lock icon will turn teal, and the assessment name will turn grey. To unlock the assessment, click directly on the lock icon.

Step 4: If an assessment has already been assigned and is locked, students will still see the assessment on their homepage -- but they will not be able to begin or resume it.

Step 5: If you would like to lock a shared assessment for your classes without preventing other teachers from using the assessment, then lock the assessment from your Assignments tab instead. This will keep the assessment available for other teachers, but it will be disabled for your students.

Step 6: If you need to lock an assessment for a specific class, then assign the assessment separately to each class. Having a separate assignment for each class will allow you to individually control the lock setting for every class. In the example shown, 2nd period does not have access to the assessment, but the assessment is not locked for 3rd and 7th periods.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)